Home » Developer & Programmer » Reports & Discoverer » Discoverer Newbie - Help!
Discoverer Newbie - Help! [message #135183] Tue, 30 August 2005 05:59 Go to next message
cbyrne
Hi All,

I'm new to discoverer, although an old hand at SQL. I'm trying to run a report in Discoverer and can't my head around how to do something, maybe someone can help.

Basically I need to be able to tell from a set of rows, what percentage of them satisfy a particular condition.

So, I can set up a worksheet that returns all the rows (basically like a select * with no conditions set). I can then add a condition to the worksheet which checks for a particular value in a field and filters the rows returned.

How though, can I get discoverer to basically return a count of the number of rows in the select * and a count of the rows which match the condition (and ideally one as a percentage of the other)- in the one query?

Once I can achieve this I then need to do something like a 'group by' report, where I can return % of rows that match the condition grouped by another field.

Apologies if this is a stupid query or doens't make sense - its a bit more complicated than this but I'm trying to break it down to its simplest part as if I can get the basics I should be ok.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Re: Discoverer Newbie - Help! [message #136046 is a reply to message #135183] Mon, 05 September 2005 10:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
skooman
Hi,

Did you try a decode (or case when)?
That way, you have a calculation which results in for example "1" if the row meets the condition and 0 if it doesn't.

Like:
case when <some-condition> then 1 else 0 end

Regards,
Sabine
Re: Discoverer Newbie - Help! [message #136047 is a reply to message #136046] Mon, 05 September 2005 11:01 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cbyrne
Hi Sabine,

thanks for the response,