Home » Server Options » RAC & Failsafe » RAC Cluster Mgr Setup install error on Win 2003 - unable to start service
RAC Cluster Mgr Setup install error on Win 2003 - unable to start service [message #115460] Mon, 11 April 2005 15:14 Go to next message
ccade
Thanks in advance to those reading this and anybody who may be able to point me in the right direction.

I'm currently unable to install the Cluster Manager for Oracle 9i (9.2.0.1) on Windows 2003. The CM reaches 83% and then displays the following error message: "Unable to start service on the nodes." Looking at Windows Services panel shows that the OracleCMService did not start successfully.

I've tried deleting all CM files and registry entries and clearing off the created voting disk then rebooting and rerunning CM Setup, but still to no avail. I've also tried rebooting after the CM install error just to see if perhaps the problem fixed itself. I am also extremely new to Oracle and have never installed before, so I am working with instructions found on the web.

Here are the steps I've followed so far:

1) Created 2 LUNs on storage system with LUN security and zoned them and hosts on the switches
2) Set up public NICs with DNS on both Win 2003 servers
3) Set up private NICs with crossover cable on both Win 2003 servers (I'm aware that a switch is recommended)
4) Ensured that public NICs appear above private NICs in Advanced Networking Options
5) Added the private NICs to my /etc/hosts file. Here is what my hosts file currently looks like:
#### BEGIN HOSTS ####
172.0.0.0 # localshost
192.168.1.10 node1.local.san # Private node1
192.168.1.20 node2.local.san # Private node2
#### END HOSTS ####

6) Ping by name all public/private nodes from both servers successfully.
7) Executed NET USE \\node1\C$ and NET USE \\node2\C$ on both servers