Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Question about databses
Question about databses [message #684721] Wed, 04 August 2021 08:38 Go to next message
itmasterw
Hi,

I am new to Oracle but did take a course in college. Anyway have been working in SQL Server and in there we would have to first create a Database, and then tables for it.
However, in looking around I do not see this for PLSQL in oracle. Do they have databases or is it something else?

Thank you
Re: Question about databses [message #684722 is a reply to message #684721] Wed, 04 August 2021 10:26 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator

You first have to install Oracle software.
Then create a database (which is not the same thing than a database in SQL Server) and an instance on it.
Then connect to the instance using SYSTEM account and create a user which is also a schema granting it the appropriate privileges.
Then connect to this new user/schema and create the tables.

The first 2 steps can be done using Oracle installer from the files you downloaded.
Read the Oracle® Database 2 Day DBA book.

[Updated on: Wed, 04 August 2021 10:27]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Question about databses [message #684723 is a reply to message #684722] Wed, 04 August 2021 10:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
itmasterw
Hi,
Thanks for the information.
I see that I have to learn more about this so thanks for the link.
Re: Question about databses [message #684724 is a reply to message #684723] Wed, 04 August 2021 10:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
EdStevens
itmasterw wrote on Wed, 04 August 2021 10:34
Hi,
Thanks for the information.
I see that I have to learn more about this so thanks for the link.