Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » development/productions environment
development/productions environment [message #50531] Wed, 20 March 2002 05:06 Go to next message
ki
I am a very new Oracle DBA and we just moved to Oracle. I am working on establishing security of the our new Oracle database. We are developing WEB applications.

What type of users accounts I need to create in the development environment and production environment ?

For example:
Mr. Smith is a developer and working on application "HR".
Should I create user account "smith" or user "hr_db" for Mr. Smith to connect to the database?
The App. will talk to the database under which account?
What will happened if Mr.Smith leaves a company (I would like to drop his account but do not drop
objects that he created) ?
This user should probably have connect and resource privilege in the database,
I will have to revoke resource privilege from the user when I will move his app to production?

Is it correct?

Please help!

Thank you!
Re: development/productions environment [message #50540 is a reply to message #50531] Wed, 20 March 2002 16:51 Go to previous message
seng
My suggestion is to category the user. Tou should use roles to implement this security in your database.Like example below

1. Web user - end user to access web application.
2. Web Application developer - developed web application especially yo edit procedure, function and access data.
3. Web Application administrator - to administrate Web application especially in data structure e.g create,alter, grant
4. Database administrative - administrate database.

Note:
- Web application schema is created just for your web account only. Other end users, developer or other are created and grant roles to access this schema. This is a easy and effective method.
- your testing/developing database should be a clone database for production to prevent any inconsistent, which might happen to any users.
- use profile for resource allocation for users.