Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » sql*plus spooling error
sql*plus spooling error [message #373689] Tue, 01 May 2001 17:09 Go to next message
MikeD
I am new to Oracle and I am having a problem trying to create a flat file using the sql*plus spool command. My query runs for 90 minutes and then I get the message: ORA-01555: snapshot too old: rollback segment number 29 with name "R0108" too small. My query is just selecting records and spooling them to a file and I should get 1M+ records. There should be no inserting/updating of records occurring in my table while I running, so I don't understand why I'm getting this message. I've asked around and people aren't sure why this is happening either and recommend splitting up my query so that I retrieve less records at one time. However, this is not easy for me to do and it just seems like it should not be a problem since I'm not doing any updating. I'm running on a Unix machine with Solaris and Oracle 8i and SQL*Plus 3.3.4.0.1. Thanks in advance for any help you can give me. Here is my query:

sqlplus
set heading off;
set term off;
set verify off;
set linesize 366;
set feedback off;
set wrap off;
set pagesize 0;
set space 0;
column back_da format A8;
column foward_da format A8;
column so_da1 format A8;
column so_da2 format A8;
column insert_da format A20;
spool /tmp/spool-data;
select d_type, first_name, year,
order_number,
control_number,
first_initial,
src_input,
to_char(back_date,'YYYYMMDD') back_da,
to_char(foward_date,'YYYYMMDD') forward_da,
uxi,
format, size, location, part_number,
to_char(so_date1,'YYYYMMDD') so_da1,
to_char(so_date2,'YYYYMMDD') so_da2,
to_char(insert_date,'YYYY-MM-DD HH24:MI:SS') insert_da"
from prod_table
where part_number is not NULL;
spool off;
exit;
Re: sql*plus spooling error [message #373690 is a reply to message #373689] Tue, 01 May 2001 18:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Andrew again...